Sharing insight, expertise and best practice on business travel management

Author archive for

Passport rules for travel to Europe after Brexit


For 2 years, the government has been implementing a significant programme of work to ensure that the UK is prepared to leave the EU on 29 March 2019. If the UK leaves the EU without a deal, British passport holders will be considered third-country nationals by countries within the Schengen area after 29 March 2019.

In this situation, new rules will apply. You should check your passport meets these rules and renew it if necessary. Here we have outlined the necessary details with links to the GOV.UK website with relevant information:

Check a passport for travel to Europe

Before booking travel, individuals will need to check that adult and child passports meet the new rules that will apply if the UK leaves the EU without a deal after 29 March 2019.

GOV.UK has a handy tool for checking passports for travel to Europe HERE

Rules for passports

The rules for travel to most countries in Europe change if the UK leaves the European Union (EU) with no deal (After 29 March 2019):

#1 You should have at least 6 months left on your passport from your date of arrival. This applies to adult and child passports.

#2 If you renewed a passport before it expired, extra months may have been added to your new passport’s expiry date. Any extra months on your passport over 10 years may not count towards the 6 months that should be remaining for travel to most countries in Europe.

The new rules will apply to passports issued by the UK, Gibraltar, Guernsey, the Isle of Man and Jersey.

List of countries affected

The new rules will apply for travel to and between countries in the Schengen area.

These include: Austria, Belgium,Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Travel to other EU countries

The new rules do not apply when travelling to Ireland.

Its handy to point out that Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania are not in the Schengen area, so you should check the entry requirements for these countries.

Applying for a new passport

If your passport doesn’t meet the new rules, you should apply for a new passport before travelling to the countries affected. Do not book travel unless your passport meets the entry requirements of the country you’re travelling to.

Make sure you apply in plenty of time, but if you need to, you can apply to get a passport urgently HERE.

Information has been taken from the GOV.UK Passport Guidance page

About Danielle Martinez

Danielle is our marketing coordinator and loves nothing more than creating thought provoking and interesting content to help our customers with business travel. Feel free to contact Danielle if there is anything you’d like to see covered within our business travel blog, she’d love to hear from you!
More by Danielle Martinez